Things That Bring Me Comfort

  • Visiting old friends and hearing the same gentle bickering I’ve heard for years
  • High alcohol beer
  • Home and/or people makeover shows
  • Dimes

I’m sure Netflix already knows all the above stats about me, based on my viewing history. I hate it when I’m not as original as I think I am. But you could probably guess by our Subaru Outback that our idea of comfort food is Thai take-out. Or was, anyway, until the toddler’s peanut allergy eighty-sixed that one.

I was comforted the other day when the barista at our amazing corner coffee shop brought me my drink before I could get up and order. It’s almost as if I live here.

There was this one silky (polyester?), pinkish blanket in my house growing up that was a “sick” blanket. Or at least that’s how I remember it. This is probably not the case, but I remember curling up under it only when coughing or sneezing or fevering. Just thinking about that blanket makes me exhale.

What brings you comfort?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things That Bring Me Comfort

  1. Time with family. Sometimes I don’t see one of our (adult) kids for a long time, and yet we can stay up late and talk about the same subjects that we have discussed for what seems forever. We just have a comfort level with each other. It never ceases to bring me joy and comfort.

  2. Kitty says:

    time with my baby. Even just watching her play at school calms me.

  3. Mom says:

    Being with and talking to my lovely, intelligent daughter. I am so lucky.

Leave a Reply

