Bacteria, Pneumonia

My dad would hate the lighting in his hospital room. We half-heatedly laughed about it together when I arrived on Saturday. But now he’s intubated and sedated, so I have to be annoyed about the whole thing for the both of us.

Apologies for starting my post like this. We are as surprised as you to be here. Friday night at 1 a.m. I’d gotten an email from my dad. A few hours later he was ambulanced to the hospital. Some bitch-ass infection just came out of nowhere. Now we are in critical care, anticipating it all to be worse before it gets better.

The good news is, my dad is as stubborn as any pneumonia. But I really wish he’d wake up to send me video of some silly Chicagoland furniture commercial. I think missing someone when they are in the same room as you is the worst kind of missing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Bacteria, Pneumonia

  1. Amy V says:

    Oh my god, Alana, I’m so sorry to hear this. How terrifying. Sending peace to you and your family, and healing energy to your Dad. Love you, Amy.

  2. Lauren Supplee says:

    Oh Alana. I am so sorry to hear about your dad. With Aaron’s dad my.first thought was “we are too damn young to be dealing with parents not being healthy” Its just not right!

    I hope that stubbornness shines through.

  3. Jessica says:

    Wishing you some decent coffee and love to you and your dad.

  4. You guys are in our thoughts. Hoping for a speedy recovery.

  5. gillian says:

    You and your family are in my thoughts. Stubbornness is pretty strong Qi. Sending warm wishes that your Dad will kick that pneumonia’s ass.

  6. Ruth Masterson says:

    Sorry to hear this and have been thinking about you & fam all morning. Hang in there, bad lighting and all!

  7. Kitty says:

    Just… sending you healing thoughts.

  8. Justin says:

    Wishes of health and recovery from Katja and Oscar and I – will be thinking of all of you!

Leave a Reply

