Better Day

Today we had some positives on The Father front. He calls me “The Kid,” so I think “The Father” is a good blog nickname.

He successfully weaned from blood pressure medication. His BP had been deadly low when he was admitted on Saturday. My acupuncturist would say that his Qi is becoming stronger. I think the Western medical explanation for this is that The Father’s piss and vinegar is returning.

He is no longer sedated. He’s responding to some things, like getting the wedding ring off his swollen finger <<wince>>. But he is still keeping to himself. Nobody’s concerned about the pace. We’re just waiting. I agree with a family friend: he’s recovering from a lifetime of night owl-itis, in addition to sleeping off this infection.

All his scans, x-rays, tests, monitoring of organs, etc., etc. are good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Better Day

  1. Lauren Supplee says:

    Yay!! Three cheers for piss & vinegar, get up and go, and gumption!

  2. Mari Bohman says:

    Thank God! So pleased—hug your Mom for me! Hug everybody!

  3. Kitty says:

    Good, good, good! So glad to hear good news!

  4. Gail/Fran says:

    That goes without saying we are happy your dad is overcoming whatever it is that knocked him out of his socks.
    Put us on the list for friends and family email blasts. Meantime we’ll check in on your blog.

    • alanajoyski says:

      Thanks. You won’t get that “waiting for moderation” note any more. And my blog IS the friends and family email list. You’ve come to the right place. You can enter your email at the top of http://www.alanajoyski.wordpress.com. Then you’ll be emailed when I write on my blog. Although I’m 99% certain AOL might think those e-mails are spam…so they might not get through. I’ll reach out extra as I can, if that’s the case. Xoxoxo

  5. Adam says:

    Yay, glad the signs are positive and hope he continues to get back to himself quickly.

  6. Kathy says:

    Hi Alana, It is Kathy here!! Mari forwarded this to me. Sooo happy your Dad is doing better. These prayers are working! Take care, give your MOM a hug from all of us in Marshfield!

  7. Richard Grieger says:

    Glad to hear he appears to be “out” of the scary part and starting down the road to recuperation.
    Don Swenson and I and the whole group over here at ETC are pulling for him and saying our prayers that he pulls off a speedy recovery that lasts for a long time. God Bless!

  8. Sarafina V says:

    I need him back on the track at the Centre ASAP! 🙂 Glad to hear things are progressing. Stay strong, mama 🙂

  9. Myron says:

    Great news! Please tell Tom “hi” from all the Goldmans.

  10. Ruth says:

    Glad to hear that he’s doing well. Keep it up, The Father! (geez, that sounds a little too religious…yikes.)

  11. Catherine says:

    So glad to hear. I think in addition to piss and vinegar, you could add salt to Tom’s list of fine attributes.

  12. Amara says:

    Oh, honey. I’m just now reading this. I am so sorry you and your dad and mom are going through this. It’s incredibly frightening to watch your dad, sedated, in the hospital. So, so glad he seems to be doing better. I will be pulling and praying for him and for you. love you, babe.
    Amara

  13. Donald says:

    Here to see you Daddy. he is sleeping. Still is comforting to see him , even if he is not working on a project at the moment. A uncle D

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

