Late Nights

My dad is a night owl. Some of my strongest childhood memories of him are between the hours of Johnny Carson o’clock and Wake-up-I-WANNA-OPEN-PRESENTS-NOW a.m. Many of my friends were convinced he is a vampire. They could be right.

In the spirit of late night spirits, the nurses turn on Letterman for my dad. The more familiar sounds, the better. I’d say the Late Show treatment is working, because today he woke up enough to have his breathing tubes taken out. He also asked my mom to give me a call (but fell asleep again before I picked up).

I’ll head over to the hospital later tonight to talk his ear off. He’ll be glad to hear all of your well-wishes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Late Nights

  1. Nina says:

    I hope he continues to improve. Our thoughts are with you.
    Strength and love,
    Nina, Andy, and Clementine

  2. Mari Bohman says:

    Yippee–we are thrilled…Jer, Mari ….

  3. Fran says:

    I’m still in the OMG stage with The Father’s medical stuff. He absolutely has to get up and about so we can all
    give him hell for doing this health tailspin. After all, he already knows how to do a medical miracle so tell him to get busy and heal himself. Pronto!

  4. John and Joni says:

    So glad to hear the news is encouraging. I figured Tom would never leave projects unfinished. Hope he gets lots of rest before returning to the hectic stuff. Say hi for us!

  5. Kathy K says:

    Hope the staff at Hotel Sherman are kind and gentle. I hear that bribes of good chocolate help adjust their attitudes! Many well wishes coming your way. Speedy recovery!

  6. Amy V says:

    Wonderful news!! It sounds like he’s really turned the corner. :-))

Leave a Reply

