25 Of 100 Things

This weekend I stalked myself into a new friendship. Some of you may have entered into friendship with me in the same, overwhelming way. My potential new friend shared her blog with me, and she had a 100 Things post. It’s a nicely written list that gives a fun insight into Things About You. Inspired, I took a deep breath, and pounded out my own hundred.

I’ll spilt them into four batches, so don’t be too afraid.

100. I can hear or sing a song ten million times a week and not be annoyed.

99. I am not a vegetarian, but I never learned to cook meat.

98. My grandmother said I “looked like a Zulu” when I pierced my nose.

97. I work to admit when my prejudices are activated.

96. A librarian once called me “a fat little pigeon.”

97. The crowd and unbearable heat of Taste of Chicago make me happy.

96. I was better at keeping in touch with old friends before email and smartphones.

95. The dog I grew up with once bit me in the face.

94. Humor is a currency I value highly.

93. My burps can sound as if they came from a linebacker.

92. I don’t know anything about football. Is a linebacker one of the big ones?

91. Everyone should calm down about gender stuff.

90. I hate mushrooms.

89. One time I told a stranger I was recovering from cancer, because she had made an unwelcome comment about me needing a cookie to fatten up. I was not recovering from cancer, but my hair was short enough to pull off the lie.

88. I ended up in Honolulu because no one else at my workplace wanted to go. In February.

87. No, I won’t be having more kids.

86. I miss working with teenagers. I love teen angst.

85. Neighborliness is sacred.

84. Most things that are “scented” confuse me.

83. The man who married my husband and me is named Wiley.

82. I took my shoes off in the middle of my wedding ceremony. I felt faint, and had never worn shoes in my parents living room before. I just had to.

81. Sometimes I am the most fun. Usually I am a stick in the mud.

80. I once said in a job interview I required being able to bring my dog to work occasionally. They still hired me. I did occasionally bring that pooch with me.

79. I’ve moved 17 times in 19 years.

78. I played serious piano growing up.

77. My first CD was purchased for me. It was Pixies: Trompe Le Monde

76. I need surgery on my right wrist. Again. The first cyst got so big even the nurses flinched when they saw it.

Read the next 25 Things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 25 Of 100 Things

  1. Mari says:

    I had a cyst such as you described. Went to a chiropracter. She made it go away by manipulating my wrist. Did not hurt. When it tried to come back, I went back to her, has not returned…been several years!

    • alanajoyski says:

      Ah! I never thought about seeking chiropractic work! That is an idea. Thanks, Mari. My mother-in-law just offered to smack it with a Bible (they used to be known as Bible bumps).

  2. Kelly says:

    Fabulous! And I recognize #80.

  3. Catherine says:

    I bet your wedding was the first time ANYONE wore shoes in your living room. I picture all the guests in stocking feet.

  4. Teresa Smith says:

    Hi Alana: I love reading your blog and thank you for it. I hope that life is good out there and it sounds like it is mostly wonderful. Isn’t that what most of us want? I hear that Spring will come one of these days. That would be nice. Now I sound like everyone else. Much love and smiles to you. Teresa

    • alanajoyski says:

      Spring is a very important thing here in Michigan. Especially after our first winter as homeowners–during the 2nd snowiest winter on record. I shall allow weather taking for sure! Lovely to know we are still connected. Dreaming of your garden in warm weather, A

Leave a Reply

