Without Sanctuary

Without Sanctuary: Lynching Photography in America

A friend sent a link to this book, with the following thoughts. She verbalized the fears of what has to be all parents raising black boys in this country. These are not just her feelings in the wake of the Ferguson verdict. This is every. day.

I am reminded of this book and other images I grew up seeing that every year as my son gets older, and bigger, and – no matter how much I will try to explain it – his marginalized position in this place and the accompanying danger means that there is no safe place for him. He will be perceived as a threat no matter what and will simply be without sanctuary in his own country. Threats on his life will be constant and will come from people that will know they can act with impunity or that know they weave a false, but satisfying, easily accepted narrative of why they had no choice. My heart goes out to all the parents who have realized the nightmare that every parent of a Black child fears from the moment they are born – brutal loss and denial of justice.

My heart is heavy today, my friends. So heavy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Without Sanctuary

  1. Erica Herd says:

    I can only imagine how fearful she must be. My heart is heavy too today.

Leave a Reply

